DST – Funding Agency

Department of Science & Technology (DST) was established in May 1971, with the objective of promoting new areas of Science & Technology and to play the role of a nodal department for organizing, coordinating and promoting S & T activities in the country. Over the last forty three years, DST developed several streams that later established themselves as departments or even ministries with focused goals.


Society for Innovation and Entrepreneurship [ SINE ] – Program Management Unit (PMU)

Society for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (SINE) is a Technology Business Incubator (TBI) set up with support from DST, Govt. of India, hosted by IIT Bombay. SINE is a broad spectrum technology incubator, incubating startups from varied technology and science areas. Following the success of the alumni-funded pilot IT incubator at IIT Bombay (IITB), SINE was set as a society under Society Registration Act in 2004 with financial and infrastructure support from IIT Bombay and Department of Science and Technology (DST).


Entrepreneurship Development Center ( Venture Center) – Prayas Center

The Venture Center is a technology business incubator specializing in technology startups offering products and services exploiting scientific expertise in the areas of materials, chemicals and biological sciences & engineering. Venture Center strives to nucleate and nurture technology and knowledge-based enterprises by leveraging the scientific and engineering competencies of the institutions in the “Pune region” in India. The Venture Center aims to empower and enable scientists and engineers in pursuing technology, innovation and entrepreneurship objectives.